Home / Uncategorized / Rineanna Rattle Ennis To Claim League Cup

Rineanna Rattle Ennis To Claim League Cup

Selprint Second Division League Cup Final
Ennis Town B 1-3 Rineanna Rovers
Rineanna Rovers claimed the first silverware of the season in the Clare League after defeating Ennis Town B in an entertaining Second Division League Cup Final at the County Grounds on Saturday night.


Ennis Town had the first chance of the match on 2 minutes with a good effort from Robbie Cantwell that was saved by Ross Dunne. Rineanna went close on 5 minutes with a shot from Ciaran Keane into the side net. Rineanna went close again on 10 minutes when a Darren Lindsay corner was headed wide by Dion Khetan. The deadlock was broken on 18 minutes when a long ball from the back was deflected into the path of Danny Sweeney who finished well to put Rineanna in front. Rineanna went close again on 20 minutes Dion Khetan was denied by a good save from Killian Normoyle. Khetan was denied again on 35 minutes by a fine tackle in the box by Luke Keenan. It was 2-0 on 40 minutes when a good cross from Paul Butler was finished well by Darren Lindsay.


Rineanna started the second half well and Danny Sweeney scored his second on 50 minutes after finishing well from a Colin Melody cross. To their credit Ennis Town played really well after conceding the third goal and Stephen Murphy went close with a header on 54 minutes. A great move for the Ennis side on 61 minutes finished with a fine effort from 25 yards by Ciaran MacMathuna that rebounded off the crossbar. Ennis Town pulled a goal back on 66 minutes when good work from MacMathuna put Nicky Ryan through on goal and he turned well inside the box before finishing to the corner. Ryan went close again on 73 minutes with a shot that went narrowly wide. Rineanna weathered the Ennis Town comeback and finished the game strongly to earn a deserved victory on the night.

6df166da813e8b80590e2ae41fae4dfa 2016-09-19-22-33-46-281853239

Ennis Town B: Killian Normoyle, Luke Keenan, Kevin Hartigan, Kealan O’Flaherty, Cody Fitzgerald, Conor O’Brien, Aaron Twist, Jason Chung, Ciaran MacMathuna, Robbie Cantwell, Ultan Shiels

Subs: Nicky Ryan for Fitzgerald, Stephen Murphy for Twist, Daryl McNamara for Cantwell, Jack Moran for O’Flaherty


Rineanna Rovers: Ross Dunne, Mark Scullion, Liam Hayes, Stephen Tuohy, Conor Sweeney, Colin Melody, Darren Lindsay, Ciaran Keane, Danny Sweeney, Paul Butler, Dion Khetan

Subs: Raj Singh for Sweeney, Michael Buckley for Khetan, Thomas Reidy for Butler, Stephen Walton for Keane (inj), Jason McNally for Scullion

Referee: Julian Sandford
Asst Referees: Barry McCarry & John Corry


About James Kirwan

Leave a Reply