Home / Uncategorized / Abbey Beat Saints To Claim Munster Champions Cup

Abbey Beat Saints To Claim Munster Champions Cup

Munster Champions Cup Final
Abbeyfeale Utd 3
Barry Sherry 50′
Packie O’Connor 70′
Jamie O’Connor 106′
St Michael’s 2
David Slattery 58′
David Grincell 77′
Abbeyfeale Utd beat St Michael’s of the TSDL today after extra time to claim the Munster Champions Cup.
A very tight first half ended in a 0-0 scoreline but it was to improve greatly in the second half.
The Fealesiders took the lead ten minutes into the sound half when Barry Sherry was on hand to score. Saints equalised just eight minutes later when the in form David Slattery slotted home.
The Desmond side would not be disheartened though and they retook the lead on seventy minutes with a fine strike from Packie O’Connor. Saints showed their fighting spirit though and on seventy seven minutes David Grincell levelled proceeding for a second time. 
The game went to extra time and it was Abbeyfeale who struck the important goal when Jamie O’Connor made himself a hero and etched his name into Abbeyfeale Utd folklore when he scored a minute into the second half of extra time to win it for the Limerick Desmond League side.
A gutsy and fantastic win, probably the biggest in the clubs history and a huge congratulations from all at stoppagetime.ie.

About James Kirwan

Leave a Reply