Home / NTDL / News / Vahey Leads Holycross To Division 1 Glory

Vahey Leads Holycross To Division 1 Glory

NT&DL Division 1

Holycross Fc 3-1 Lough Derg Fc

Holycross Fc were today crowned North Tipperary & District League Division 1 Champions for the first time in their history after a three-one victory over Lough Derg.

Matt Vahey’s side didn’t have it all their own way though and found themselves a goal behind after fifteen minutes when Emmett Lyons scored from a speculative effort some forty yards out. This seemed to wake the hosts up and they grabbed an equaliser ten minutes later when a Seamie Comerford corner was met full on by John King and hemade no mistake.

The hosts found themselves ahead ten minutes before half time when when a cross from the right was flicked on by Jerry Ryan and Dan Corbett was on hand to give his side the lead, knowing a win would see his side lift the elusive title.

Holycross ended the game as a contest twenty minutes from time when Kevin O’Dwyer got possession of the ball some thirty yards out, the midfielder lashed his effort towards the goal giving Oisín Conacur no chance and sealing the title for his side.

This was a much needed win for the club after their near miss in 2015 when Streamstown Celtic pipped them to the title whilst under the tutelage of Thomas Dwan, but it was not to happen this time around as Vahey has built a fine squad both offensively and defensively, going into the final league game unbeaten before they face Clodiagh Rangers and Nenagh Celtic in the Barry and Tipperary Cup finals respectively.

Man Of The Match: Jerry Ryan


About James Kirwan

Leave a Reply